Meet the Team

The Infinity Project established the Judge Diana Murphy Legacy Award in 2008, named in honor of Judge Diana Murphy, the first woman to serve on the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.  The award was created to recognize Judge Murphy for her continued legacy of notable contributions, extraordinary achievements, support for women lawyers and judges, and unfailing commitment to equal justice under the law.

The Judge Murphy Legacy Award will honor an individual, man or woman, or an organization, which advances the mission of the Infinity Project in one or more of the following ways:

  • supports, mentors or advances the professional development of women lawyers or judges;
  • displays dedicated leadership and advocacy in contributing to the removal of barriers to the full and equal participation of women lawyers on the bench;
  • demonstrates the highest levels of personal and professional integrity as a member of the bench and bar;
  • serves as a model of professionalism.

The award will not be used as a fundraising tool.  The strict purpose is to recognize individuals or organizations who have made a significant impact in the legal profession consistent with the mission of the Infinity Project and bear the honor of receiving an award in the name of Judge Diana Murphy.   In sum, recipients of the Judge Diana Murphy Legacy Award will model the legacy of excellence that Judge Murphy has demonstrated over the course of her lifetime.

Award Recipients

Inaugural Award: The Honorable Diana Murphy,Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

2011 Award: The Honorable Karen Schreier, Chief, District Court of South Dakota

2012 Award: The Honorable Jean Hamilton, Eastern District of Missouri

2014 Award: The Honorable Celeste Bremer, Magistrate Judge, District of Iowa

2019 Award: Senator Amy Klobuchar


©2020 The Infinity Project. In the Eighth Circuit Courts—Because Gender Fairness Matters. All rights reserved.

Support the Infinity Project.